HOT!! D700 – An FX-based Small Body with the D3’s Chip?
Well, a poster on Fred Miranda’s forums seems to have found a Chinese post from a person who’s gotten some cell-phone pictures from a person working at the printing company for a new FX-based smaller camera called the D700 which seems to be using the D3’s sensor. If I had a flashing siren icon, it’d go here.

Here’s the link to the original Chinese post.
Here are the other images:




It doesn’t smell fake to me, but the D700 name doesn’t sound right either. Maybe we’ll see a naming convention where the FX bodies are >100 and roughly mimic their place in the previous hierarchy. For example, if this is the D700 then its place is roughly where the D70 was before.
Then maybe DX bodies stay <100…
Who knows?
June 18th, 2008 at 10:24
I saw some of these pictures on anothe rumour site. I’m wondering if the “D700″ will be the first in FX series of smaller, pro level bodies. That gives Nikon the D800 and D900 for FX upgrades. But it also leaves room for DX upgrades – D400, D500, D600…
I also heard the 45mm PC is on it’s way with this announcement…who knows!
June 18th, 2008 at 11:53
the front view displays a way too small viewfinder, and the syncro flash cover is the older D200 model.
Sounds fake to me.
June 18th, 2008 at 16:31
Weell in the frontal shot it looks like a D300 body, except for a metal …’something’ at the left of the viewfinder area.
Also the remote covers on the right of the image don’t look like those on D300.
Thinking about fake – one could take an official D300 shot – or even shoot a D300 – and ‘doctor’ it, but it’s already some work involved.
Also I haven’t seen any D300 official shots that would match the one above, with that lens.
The same goes for the shutter unit picture wich is different from both D3 and D300 – d’oh, it’s a FF sensor, and the chassis pictures.
If it’s a fake, someone went to some serious lengths to do it, and my hat’s off to that person
June 18th, 2008 at 16:54
Good catch on the sync cover– unless it is a new style where each port has a separate, attached cover.
If it’s fake, it’s very elaborate. The forger would have to create documents, including new text, and print them up as fake press sheets. Possible, but quite silly.
Not to get too nationalistic, but such a situation would almost certainly not occur at a commercial printer in the US, as any decent printer would offer document security for sensitive information like this. Discarded proofs and make-ready sheets would be under constant supervision and shredded immediately.
June 18th, 2008 at 18:43
Good catch on the sync cover– unless it is a new style where each port has a separate, attached cover.
If it’s fake, it’s very elaborate. The forger would have to create documents, including new text, and print them up as fake press sheets. Possible, but quite silly.
Not to get too nationalistic, but such a situation would almost certainly not occur at a commercial printer in the US, as any decent printer would offer document security for sensitive information like this. Discarded proofs and make-ready sheets would be under constant supervision and shredded immediately. If we assume this is real, I am shocked Nikon would exert greater security over such an obvious vulnerability.
June 19th, 2008 at 04:55
Fake.
(1) Just look at the quality of the print job. The reverse page of the 5th image down bleeds through.
(2) Compare it to real Nikon marketing material. D3’s marketing brochure can be viewed on http://www.nikonusa.com/Assets/Digital-SLR/25434-Nikon-D3/PDF/D3_brochure.pdf Every time it mentions a Nikkor lens it says AF NIKKOR or AF-S NIKKOR. This brochure just says NIKKOR. No D300 marketing material on Nikon’s website. D200’s materials always refer to Nikkor lenses as AF Nikkor or AF-S Nikkor. This brochure doesn’t. http://www.nikonusa.com/Assets/Digital-SLR/25235-Nikon-D200/PDF/D200_Brochure.pdf
(3) Ken Rockwell reports the print shop is a Chinese prison print shop. Think about it, how many prisoners have cell phones? http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d700.htm
(4) The images were taken with a KDDI-SH W52SH. Drag an image and right click to see properties. Go to Flickr and there is no image in their KDDI-SH database using a phone model W52SH. http://www.flickr.com/cameras/kddi/#models
Oh well…
June 19th, 2008 at 05:21
[...] beelden verschenen eerst op het forum van Fred Miranda en verspreidden zich daarna als een lopend vuurtje over het web. Ondertussen zijn ook de vermoedelijke specificaties [...]
June 20th, 2008 at 18:10
I just checked some Nikon brochures and found the following:
The 2005 Nikon Full Line Product Guide, Volume 13 was printed in the USA.
A 36-page lens catalog from 2006 was printed in Japan.
A 1-page brochure for the AF-S 14-24 and 24-70 lenses was printed in Japan.
A similar brochure for the 400, 500 and 600 VRs was printed in Japan.
Some U.S. 1-sheet pieces for the 70-300 and 18-135mm don’t have a country of manufacture.
A D3 and D300 1-sheet that was printed last August was printed in Japan.
A “Total Digital Imaging System” 24-page brochure that has the D2 line and the D200, D80, D40x and D40 was printed in Japan.
A Fall 2007 “DigiGuide” 62-page catalog from Nikon USA doesn’t have a country of manufacture, but it was designed in New York.
So while this certainly doesn’t represent the full line of Nikon brochures and catalogs, not one seems to come from a printing plant in China.
However, some have reported that the published photos actually did come from a Japanese, not a Chinese printing plant and were taken by a visiting Chinese student.
June 21st, 2008 at 21:09
“(1) Just look at the quality of the print job. The reverse page of the 5th image down bleeds through.”
Couple possibilities: 1) might be a ghosted image, or 2) the ink density was too high (hence why they were thrown away) or 3) they were make-ready sheets that got some wet ink transfer from the back of another sheet (which the printer would not be worried about until they had the press ready to go).
June 22nd, 2008 at 11:02
“(4) The images were taken with a KDDI-SH W52SH. Drag an image and right click to see properties. Go to Flickr and there is no image in their KDDI-SH database”
KDDI is a Japanese cell phone company and the model is real and was only sold in Japan:
http://www.au.kddi.com/torisetsu/pdf/w52sh/index.html
This suggests the leak came from Japan, not China!
June 26th, 2008 at 17:04
[...] is weer eens wat buzz op de camera blogs. Een tijdje geleden waren er al een aantal foto’s uitgelekt van een [...]
July 1st, 2008 at 01:36
It’s real. Glad I was wrong. Here is the brochure:
See http://nikonusa.com/Assets/Digital-SLR/25444-Nikon-D700/PDF/25444_D700_brochure.pdf
Bravo to Wizzedd who properly points out what I speculated (but only in my mind), that the leak came from Japan because the camera was a model KDDI. The brochure was, indeed, printed in Japan, see page 24. Note that because of the way it was printed, the back page is on the upper left corner of the brochure.
Page 19 indicates the 4 new lenses.
PC-E Nikkor 24mm f/3.5 ED,
PC-E Micro Nikkor 45mm f/2.8 ED,
PC-E Micro Nikkor 85mm f/2.8D and
AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Too big and heavy for me right now. So I’m still hoping for a D90.
July 4th, 2008 at 16:15
In retrospect…obviously the D700 was real, but this brochure was either fake or an early draft. If you look at the paragraph about the 51-point AF system, it’s formatted differently in the official Nikon brochure (http://www.nikonusa.com/Assets/Digital-SLR/25444-Nikon-D700/PDF/25444_D700_brochure.pdf) than it was here.